TRUST ABUSED

There are things people do

Words people say

Sins friends commit

That change you eternally

 

It’s not about pain

Or never healing

Or scars

That never quite fade

 

It’s about virginity

 

Trust lost

 

Time heals all wounds

True

But for a leg amputated

No other can grow back on

 

You can only learn to live

With your other leg

And guard it

With all strength

You have left

 

You may heal

And the scars fade

But you can never ever

Have your leg back

 

And so I trust only once

No

Do not take it personal

Its everyone

 

I do second chances

Yes

But the second time round

I prefer handshakes

To embraces

 

Do not try too hard

I beg you

I really do not believe

People change

 

My one leg is gone

By you

You can’t really blame me

If I don’t offer the other one

For you to maim too

 

Can you?

 

And I do forgive

Totally, absolutely

I will never point a past mistake

At you

Never remind you

That once

You wronged me

 

But I remind myself

Always

That I may love you so

But I will never ever

Lose my other leg

To anyone

 

Not even you

 

I trust only once

It’s not about pain

That I constantly cry over

It’s not about scars

Reminders of where I’ve been

It’s not because

I fear

Getting hurt twice

 

No

 

It’s a leg amputated

That can never grow back

Trust abused

 

So love me again

The second time round

Treat me better

I will return the favor

 

But do not blame me

When I cannot bear

To look at you

 

Do not get angry

When I cannot stand

Your touch on my skin

 

Win my heart

My love

These things you have

Any way

 

But do not try to win

My trust once again

 

You cannot make paper from ashes

 

Leave a word (or more)

