REMEDY FOR A BROKEN SOUL

I don’t think we ever truly heal
Ever truly get over
Shit that makes us who we are

Some people just lock it up
In a place they don’t go to
But it’s there
Waiting…

Waiting for one crack on the wall
That will make the gates
Explode

And so my spirit tells me
To not look away
To not say
Am doing just fine
To pretend I don’t care
When I cry alone
At night

It tells me
Face it!

Collect your pain
Every single drop of it
Every unjustified suffering
Every question
Whose truth I will ever know

Pour it
Into a tube of paint
Onto a blank canvas

Put it in a can
Of graffiti spray
And onto a wall

Or sip it into the nib
Of a fountain pen
Then write

And no
It will not make things easier
Says my spirit,
It will not justify
My suffering or pain

It’s not about justification

It’s about being able to smile
At a beautiful abstract
Whose colors were mixed in tears

Good things
Can come out of bad ones
If I so choose

2 thoughts on “REMEDY FOR A BROKEN SOUL

Comments are closed.