PRESENCES

I have felt beings around me
Behind me
Beside me

 I haven’t heard whispers
Nor seen creepy shadows
 

Just felt presences

And I know
Beyond doubt
Other beings exist

I cannot see them
But I feel them

 I feel them

And no
 I do not think they are kindly angels
Or dreadful  demons

I just know they are beings
Like we humans are-
With more shades than one

 So when I sit sometimes
And sense
Their unmistakable presences
And  entertain
Thoughts of them
Being in forms
I cannot perceive

They come close and ask
If I am ready
To see their faces

I always smile to myself
And tell  them
No

What if they make themselves
Known
And startle the hell out of me

What if
Their faces
Are versions of what
I have leant to fear
Or reject

 And sometimes
Afraid
They might jump out
And show themselves
Regardless

 I think
What’s the worst
That could come to pass

If they wanted to harm me
They’d have done so
Ages ago

Still
When they ask
If I am ready to see them

I always smile
And say
Not just yet

And just like that
They leave me alone
These unseen strange presences

2 thoughts on “PRESENCES

  1. I can relate, Helen. When I was a child, I used to see them, but as an adult, I just sense them. Great poem and fabulously, atmospheric picture. xox

    1. we are many eh?! I always seem to just feel them. In high school it was in the form of a sweet smelling scent- have to admit it was a little creepy!I saw the pic online and just had to have it! 🙂 thanks!

Leave a word (or more)

