I’LL BE YOUR JUDAS

I should be more forgiving
I really should
Forget that you bit me yesterday
And wonder at the scar on my arm

But I can’t

 

I don’t know how to unsee
Actions done in contempt
Nor to unhear
Words spoken in malice

 

I don’t know how to be seduced
By the devil’s scarlet lips
When I know beneath
Fangs of venom exist

 

I don’t know how to applaud
Plastic splendor

 

Skin deep beauty
Loses its flair
When underneath
It’s pure rot

 

Like you

 

And I can laugh with you no more
‘Least not with tears
In my eyes
Like I used to

 

It dulls my insides
That you’re just one of many decoys
I have seen in my time

 

And I would spurn you
If I could
But it seems
You’re one who cannot be disposed of

 

So let’s play your game:

 

I honestly
You covertly;

 

Let’s play pretend

 

Here on
I will learn to endure you
Purse my lips to your stench
And take what silver you offer
Truthfully or otherwise

 

I will use your vices for my gains

 

And no
I am not indebted to you
Nor can we ever be friends

 

I do not dance to the tunes
Of sirens

 

As long as you are useful
To my own ends
I will learn to tolerate you
Like a buzzing bee
That refuses to fly away

 

And eventually
Like a bunch of plastic roses
To be swapped
For a bouquet of genuine live ones

 

 

Leave a word (or more)

