ON QUESTIONING GOD

The story of Christians who never question God goes like this:

A generous daddy gives you everything you ask for and on top of that, you have a billion dollar estate to inherit when you turn 22. Occasionally though, in the mansion you live in, you find a dead child in the freezer that he keeps hidden. Each week it’s a different baby and there are parents on TV each day asking after their missing babies.

You think of asking your old man but you fear he will get angry and refuse to give you the billion dollars he promised you- so you just shut up about it. Besides, he uses his money to take a million kids to school and build homes for the homeless. And he loves kids! Surely, there must be a plausible explanation…

BULLSHIT

If you love someone and seek to understand them, do you not ask questions about them? If your lover told you today that he killed someone, will you just brush it aside and say “I still love you baby.”  Or will you be horrified at his actions and pester him to justify his actions to you?

And if he loves you equally and cares that you still trust him, will he not explain himself to you?

That’s my view on questioning God. He is never pissed when we ask him questions cuz when we do; we get answers and understand the universe as it is. If we didn’t question God and his workings, Galileo would never have come forward and proclaimed that the earth is round. We would still be the stupid people who believed that the earth is flat.

For all the scientific breakthroughs we have made so far, it’s strange that Christianity is so against clarification and seeks blind faith instead. If God is as smart as I think he is, I think he is super pissed at people who wonder at things but never ask questions.

He is an unworthy lover who claims to deeply love that which he doesn’t understand and doesn’t seek to understand.

8 thoughts on “ON QUESTIONING GOD

  1. Interesting that you mentioned Galileo. It is worth mentioning that Galileo remained a Christian all his life. He was questioning the reigning Aristotelian (by Aristotle) view of the universe that had been adopted by the church. It was one scientific theory against another.

  2. As I’m not a textbook expert on anything I really cannot present an argument which can help my cause here. Therefore I only want to tell you that I have come to believe, trust and love God because of what I have been through, I have seen and I continue to experience. I have learnt with time and experience that among the noisy chaos of information and research, one has to completely shut down and focus on the one mighty but gentle voice within you. Rest is truly up to you. It truly is about the journey for me at the very least..:-)
    Love the Jefferson quote!!:-D xxx

    1. hehe! I loved it too! 🙂 The problem with me is that atimes I shut down the questions but then that means I do not converse with God at all cuz each time I think of Him, a question pops up that he cant/ wont answer. There are lots of things I do not know- perhaps will never know but I cant stand not seeking answers.

  3. I have noticed a catastrophic mistake in my comment, Christopher Hitchens is a “antitheist” as opposed to what spell check corrected it to, “anti atheist”, spell check is now deceased.

  4. Excellent writing Hellen. I have recently discovered the works of writer and self termed “anti-theist” Christopher Hitchens who I immediately was reminded of upon reading your post. If you haven’t read any of his stuff I know that you would love it and I recommend him highly. He says what he believes and backs it up with extremely intelligent and logical reasoning. Here are a some of his quotes,

    “Is it too modern to notice that there is nothing [in the ten commandments] about the protection of children from cruelty, nothing about rape, nothing about slavery, and nothing about genocide?”

    “If religious instruction were not allowed until the child had attained the age of reason, we would be living in a quite different world.”

    “Our belief is not a belief. Our principles are not a faith. We do not rely solely upon science and reason, because these are necessary rather than sufficient factors, but we distrust anything that contradicts science or outrages reason. ”

    “Take the risk of thinking for yourself, much more happiness, truth, beauty, and wisdom will come to you that way.”

    And a final I saw this joke the other day:

    Atheism is a non-prophet organisation.

    be happy,
    Mark

    1. Thanks Mark 🙂 I’ll take his suggestion:
      “Take the risk of thinking for yourself, much more happiness, truth, beauty, and wisdom will come to you that way.”
      And by all means I will be happy! Cheers!

Leave a word (or more)

