GOD OR NO GOD?

Seems there are only two ways to be- theist or atheist- and I think that’s bullshit. There is that mid path called agnosticism which some people claim is just escapism but I beg to differ.Right at this point, I am agnostic. I am questioning my lifelong belief in god and I am no longer sure whether he really exists or not.

On one hand, life’s fuckedupness would make so much sense if there were no god. On the other hand, I have learnt all my life to pray to a god and I prayed for things; some of which came to pass.

Am I theist or atheist? Am torn so I will say I am agnostic.

Maybe with time I will make up my mind about god’s existence, but god or no god, I realize now that it is of no consequence to me. If there is no god, that explains a lot about life. If there is a god however, I think he is pretty twisted and am not sure I like him much.

When it all boils down to it, I have a life to live- a life I chose to live (cuz there was a time I was ready to call it quits) and when I made a choice to live it, it was to be according to how I saw fit.

So god or no god, I have a life I need to live for myself and for the things I think count.

There is not just black and white- there is grey too – Theism, atheism and agnosticism. Then there is a grey spot between living for god or the devil and that mid path is called living for what you believe in with all your mind- supernatural forces aside.

I take that path and live for myself.

7 thoughts on “GOD OR NO GOD?

  1. I see the atheist vs. theist system of categorization as a false binary which poorly describes a very diverse spectrum of possible belief systems. It fails to recognize that people can embody seemingly contradictory beliefs simultaneously. This is far from unusual when one lives in or even actively embraces a state of uncertainty. Saying that one must either have a belief in god or have an absence of a belief in god fails to take this mixed state of mind into consideration. Human’s aren’t computers built upon a series of ones (yes) and zeros (no) states. Our minds can operate in ways that are far less well defined.

    I am a theistically neutral agnostic. I am neither an atheist nor a theist. A part of me believes that god like phenomena might exist and a part of me believes that it is possible that such phenomena are non-existent. My thoughts regarding god-like phenomena, therefore, exist in an in-between state which includes both belief and disbelief. One might say that a part of me is theist while another part of me is atheist. I am partially both and therefore, I am fully neither.

    As the limited creature I am, I see it as impossible to truly know the answer to such questions. The universe is a grand place, the nature of which is quite often beyond my understanding and imagining… so much so that I doubt we really know which questions to ask, let alone how to answer them. So, I simply do not know and I thus choose to remain in a state of neutrality. Many people crave a more certain frame of mind and naturally gravitate toward the antipodes of theism and atheism. Alternatively, I have learned to be at piece with the unknown, the in-between, and the undefined.

    1. As you say “Saying that one must either have a belief in god or have an absence of a belief in god fails to take this mixed state of mind into consideration. Human’s aren’t computers built upon a series of ones (yes) and zeros (no) states.”

      There is really no shame in admitting uncertainty.

  2. The trouble is that you define atheism to mean belief that there is no god, when it actually means without god belief. Agnosticism is still a perfectly valid position for you to take, but it is a belief about knowledge, and not about god. You’ll find that most atheists are also agnostics.

    1. But is it true to say then that atheists do not believe in the existence of god(s)? cuz am juggling both your statements and find they allude to the same thing- the non-existence of a god(s).

      And true, most atheists are agnostics but so many shun that label like its admitting a weakness i their conviction.

      Thanks for commenting though and do expound on you two statements if possible. cheers! 🙂

      1. Yes, atheists do not believe in a god. This is different from saying that atheists do believe there is no god, because a lack of belief does not rule out the existence of a god, whereas believing that there is no god is rather explicit.

        I would suggest that most atheists don’t bother using agnostic to describe themselves because they feel it is implicit. If atheists have conviction about anything, it is that they see no reason to believe, which I believe is where you stand.

  3. I think the way you are thinking is great! Let me explain one thing, if I may. I am agnostic. And I am an atheist. The two are not seperate ideas, but rather the same type of thing. I just tell people I am an atheist, because usually they don’t know what agnostic really means. I am an atheist because: I don’t find enough evidence to make proof of a god. Any god. Whatsoever. I cannot disprove a god either though, so of course, I can’t know there isn’t a god, just like a no one has proven there is a god. So, I contend agnosticism isn’t truly the middle ground, but it is a reasonable way to realize that there’s no way you could KNOW there’s a god or not. (: If you wanna know more about any of this… You should look at my blog!

Leave a word (or more)

