MAKING FILMS AT LAST!

Two weeks ago, we made an impromptu film. We had the camera on hand anyway so we decided “What the hell!” What resulted was a fun movie experience, a tiresome day and the sweet sweet feeling of fulfillment after a whole year of not making a single film.

Today I was on set of a friend’s film to help around and I ended up being the Runner-cum-Stills Photographer- cum-Continuity Supervisor. Yeah! Student films roll like that. You end up doing a whole bunch of things but then, that’s the way to learn I guess.

 

DSCN0297

I quite liked taking photos from the set and behind the scenes. This is giving me an opportunity to see how friends are making their films so I can get ideas for my own too (and learn from their mistakes so I don’t do the same ;-))

We have an event planned in which we are supposed to showcase all the films we are making so I don’t have the luxury to sit back and claim that I will take part in two films and that’s it. I have to be accountable and at least that’s keeping me on my toes- if not the sheer pleasure of meeting new people and creating something new and fun.

I haven’t lost my mojo like I thought I had. The fear was what was keeping me tied away from filmmaking and now I know, all film is a matter of learning and there will never be a day I will shoot a “perfect” film. That should not deter me from trying though since each film I do will get me closer to at least 99% perfection.

And so these five months I am taking James Cameron’s quote as a mantra.

 

“Pick up a camera. Shoot something. No matter how small, no matter how cheesy, no matter whether your friends and your sister star in it. Put your name on it as director. Now you’re a director. Everything after that you’re just negotiating your budget and your fee.”

 

 

Leave a word (or more)

