One Evening

I came to bed
So I could lie alone
And not have someone speak to me
In case the tears just came

And they asked me why

My niece followed me
Stubborn as she always is
And I pretended to sleep
Hoping she’d leave me be
And while I turned from her
Gasping ever so slightly
So the sobs won’t shake my body
And crying silently to myself
So she wouldn’t be baffled
She put her small arm around me
And patted my shoulder

As if she knew

Featured image : http://www.ignant.de/2015/09/24/photographer-edward-honaker-documents-his-own-depression/

Leave a word (or more)

