EIGHT

You claim it will happen to me too
That life deforms us all
That I should not be too quick
To point an accusing finger at you when questioned

So then tell me
Is there a demon
That takes hold of us
When we reach a certain age?

Is it in our genes
And when will it strike?

Tell me

When will I want to wage battles
Against those who for years
Have nestled my broken self
Under their wings
And tended to me till I healed and became
Twice the warrior I once was

I need to know

So I can wait for that demon
Wait for it to fit itself
To my soles and fingertips
Then stake myself.

#LettersToMyPlacenta

Leave a word (or more)

