Ten

I found a letter

That turned the ground I sat on

To quicksand

And slowly sinking

Reeling from my find

I wonder how you could

So easily lie

And how lucky for me

To never have tried

To heal you

Your wounds lie deep within

And you vibrant color-drenched skin

Is a poisonous façade

I could never heal you if I tried

Neither was I the one

Who was not good enough

No one ever was

You were damaged, I now see

Long before I ever came along

You were not loved enough

And stuck in a love unrequited

Like a great tree unmoving

Vowing to brave it all

There you now stand all alone

And I thought once

too could brave it all

Stand by you till death

Till you knew

You were truly loved

I realize now you’d have died

Sorrowful

Mourning never having been loved at all

The fortresses we built around you

When the winds blew too hard

To times we touched our branches to yours

So you wouldn’t double over

With the weight of the world

You would still have thought

We stayed close

Only to better feast on your carcass

When your great tree fell

And it is not my love

That is faulty

My love is true

But you don’t know that;

You can never feel love

Because you’ve never loved yourself

#LettersToMyPlacenta

Leave a word (or more)

